canon camera series: Mirror, Mirrorless, Compact, Ultra-Compact

You can determine the status of the camera model you are interested in by belonging to a specific series. Moreover, it should be borne in mind that each leading manufacturer of photographic equipment cultivates its own family tree. As part of the article, we will focus on deciphering Canon’s camera series.

It’s no secret that a clear view hierarchy can be traced in the family of cameras. At the lower levels are simple digital compacts, while the higher echelons of power are full-frame DSLRs and mirrorless cameras, or even delegates of a small detachment of medium format.

Canon Camera Series

canon camera series
canon camera series

Canon EOS (Mirror)

The Canon EOS (Electro-Optical System) system debuted in 1987 and has grown to a large scale in its 30-plus years of existence. It includes all cameras with interchangeable lenses of the Japanese brand. But first, we will focus purely on the EOS line of DSLRs.

So, the fewer numbers in the name of a Canon SLR camera, the higher its rank :

  • EOS XXXXD – entry-level DSLRs for beginners;
  • EOS XXXD – amateur SLR cameras;
  • EOS XXD – cameras of a strong middle link with an eye on photo enthusiasts;
  • EOS XD are Canon’s flagships.

A high figure in the expanded naming of “thousandth”, “hundredth” and “tenth” models often denotes more recent generations. The exception to the rule is the Canon EOS 4000D DSLR, which is essentially a stripped-down version of the Canon EOS 2000D entry-level camera.

Things are a little more complicated with the “single” detachment of Canon SLR cameras:

  • EOS 1 – “adult” professional-level reportage DSLRs (starting from the 1D X generation they have a full-frame matrix, before that – a home-grown APS-H format sensor);
  • EOS 5 – the notorious “penny”; professional SLR cameras with a full-frame image sensor;
  • EOS 6 – Affordable full-frames in a semi-pro lightweight package;
  • EOS 7 – Canon’s advanced cropped DSLRs (with an APS-C image sensor).

The Mark prefix marks the generation of a particular camera. For example, the Canon EOS 5D Mark IV is a fourth-generation full-frame nickel.

It’s important to know! In Japan and the United States, three-digit series DSLRs are named differently. So, in the Land of the Rising Sun they are called Kiss, and in the States Rebel.

Canon EOS series cameras (SLR)

  • Canon EOS 600D Kit 18-55
  • Canon EOS 6D Mark II body
  • Canon EOS 250D kit
  • Canon EOS 2000D kit 18-55
  • Canon EOS 5D Mark IV body
  • Canon EOS 6D body
  • Canon EOS 650D kit 18-55

Canon EOS (mirrorless)

Mirrorless cameras in the Canon EOS line play no less significant role than mirror mastodons. Especially in light of the rise of the full-frame EOS R system.

The first mirrorless “swallow” from the Japanese brand left its native nest in 2012. It was a Canon EOS M camera. Since then, all cameras of a similar design with a cropped matrix are automatically assigned to the EOS M family.

Canon full frames without the bulky mirror mechanism in the design first rolled off the assembly line in 2018. They belong to the newly minted EOS R line.

Canon EOS Series Cameras (Mirrorless)

  • Canon EOS R body
  • Canon EOS RP body
  • Canon EOS R6 body
  • Canon EOS RP kit 24-105
  • Canon EOS R5 body
  • Canon EOS R kit 24-105
  • Canon EOS M50 kit 15-45

Canon PowerShot (compact)

Cameras without interchangeable lenses of the Japanese brand are included in the numerous PowerShot series. In the days before the advent of adequate cameras in smartphones, the line had a huge number of branches. Today, three main branches continue to grow:

  • PowerShot G – charged cameras with advanced shooting capabilities;
  • PowerShot SX – compact “babies” with a huge optical zoom ratio;
  • The PowerShot D is an all-terrain camera in a rugged, waterproof housing.

Canon PowerShot series cameras (compact)

  • Canon PowerShot G7X Mark II
  • Canon PowerShot G9X Mark II
  • Canon PowerShot SX620 HS
  • Canon PowerShot G7X Mark III
  • Canon PowerShot SX430 IS
  • Canon PowerShot SX540 HS
  • Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

Canon IXUS (ultra compact)

The IXUS group is represented by Canon budget cameras in an ultra-compact body.

Canon IXUS Series Cameras (Ultra Compact)

  • Canon IXUS 185
  • Canon Digital IXUS 285 HS
  • Canon Digital IXUS 190
  • Canon Digital IXUS 117 HS
  • Canon Digital IXUS 510 HS
  • Canon Digital IXUS 180
  • Canon Digital IXUS 160